In which I end up lessening my word count goal – by a lot

After a whole lot of excitement and not as much writing, I decided to change my word count goal for Camp NaNoWriMo to something I would actually be able to reach.

At first I did not want to, but decided that, rather than putting that amount of stress on myself during a stressful month, I’ll rather give myself a goal that I can reach and still be proud of.

In the end, ten thousand words in a month is nothing to be sneered at and forty thousand words was a stretch goal to begin with — and one which I had made before July turned into such a busy (not to mention exciting) month. However, I am still forgetting to update my word count on the website every day. *sigh*

Plotting and plantsing

Last weekend, though, I had a chance to just sit for a few hours every day and do nothing but plot and write and this really worked out very well. I just refrained from writing the fight scene in the local coffee shop in case I start to cry. Which would have been awkward for myself, the poor waiter, and the patrons around me.

Aidan Wright/“A Corpse and a Ghost Flower”

This weekend I have finally decided to rather set the story about Aidan Wright in another world to ours, but with a still distinct Victorian Era flavour. I am also definitely mashing together the two story ideas which I can loosely describe as “ghost flowers” and “soul photography”.

News on The Ruon Chronicles

I chatted to a friend about one of the legends of Airtha-Eyrassa the other day and realised that, after the “world-overhaul” that happened a few months ago I needed to change some details of the legend as well.

This legend is about the Tellerassar shapeshifters (the ones who turn into eagles) and the water women/Ailala’s Daughter’s. The water women are going to play a part in part six of The Box of Secrets and I do not think that I have said much about them at all on the blogs.

Once the legend has been revised and rewritten as needed, I will post it both here and on the Ruon Chronicles website. I hope to revise it this coming weeked.

Writing plans for the week

I have a number of writing plans for the week.

The first of the plans is to finish the editing course by Shani Raja I am currently busy with. Including homework, I think I have about three and a half hours left, and will do that during lunchtime. I cannot say how much I am enjoying the course and how much I think it will help to better my writing.

The next is to write blogposts, especially ones for Folklore Thursday that I have been seriously neglecting of late.

I also want to take part in the Microcosms and Cracked Flash Fiction competitions. My fingers are itching to write some flash!

Then I need to finish version one of part six of The Box of Secrets. I can then spend the following week simply editing the part to post by the 31st of the month.

Lastly I need to finish outlining the final scenes of The Box of Secrets beyond the bullet points I have at the moment. I also want to re-outline the story “A Mask of Paper and Porcelain”. I’ve been busy with the story for about a year (though on and off) and I feel that I just need to look at it with brand new eyes and try to outline it again.

Music and writing inspiration

I’ve been listening to such an eclectic variety of music while writing these past few weeks — hardly keeping to my usual listen-to-what-suits-the-scene type of music.

While “epic music” still makes up quite a bit of the music I listen to while writing, I also find myself listening to music like Die Heuwels Fantasties, Linkin Park, early music, and postrock.

My only problem is that there is so much wonderful new music out at the moment that I have no idea where to start or where to get the time to listen to everything!

