So… Camp NaNoWriMo was a bit of a flop word count wise. I ended up completing around 11K of my 25K word count goal by midnight on 30 April. The “half NaNo” that seemed so easy to attain in March turned out to be a far cry from what I was able to accomplish in April. But, that said, I did end up doing quite a bit of writing nevertheless.

While the 11K words include Part 3 of The Box of Secrets (BoS) and the beginning of Part 4 of BoS (which at the moment is about 4K in length), most of my writing time and a lot of the energy went into the preparation and worldbuilding that goes on behind the scenes. This is partly because BoS was supposed to be a short story of about 7K words that only treated Trevian becoming a Seeker of Knowledge. Little did I know that it would almost instantly morph into a story which will in the end be around 50K in length. I am, however, having a whole lot of fun writing this story and bringing back characters which have already appeared in earlier stories (like Grove of Graves, which you can read over here).

So, all in all, I’m not going to beat myself up too much that I did not reach the word count goal that I had set in March. Some days the dragon wins, after all. But I do think that I should set up a word count goal every month going forward and building up to the big 50K in November.

tumblr_o2a9wxkfxI1r6l65eo1_500

 

