Nea-a Agrai, nea-a Agrai, lasala na s’tellarias nea hon, o Agrai, nea-a Agrai.

In Box of Secrets a healer needs to use both the Ruon charms and a chant to heal one of the characters. I needed the chant to be in the same language as the blessing which is normally given by the Airus and the Tellerassar when they want to thank someone or when they take leave of them for a long time (Á Agrai tellarias or s’agrelar silássa – May the Light of the One shine on your path).

However, I also did not want it to be a too-difficult chant as it isn’t the chant itself which is doing the healing, but is more used as a prayer to strengthen the charms used and a way to focus the nith of the charm. The chant I wrote for this scene also needed to be something which used a lot of repetition (because I like it, for one) and I wanted it to have a certain rhythm to it.

I had in mind medieval religious chant, of which I am a big fan, and wanted to give the same “air” to this chant. Here are a few examples of medieval chants:

Enter my small dictionary of words I’ve made for the world of Airtha-Eyrassa thus far…

Nea-a Agrai, nea-a Agrai, lasala na s’tellarias nea hon, o Agrai, nea-a Agrai is the final chant I decided upon and it means; “Creator of Light, Creator of Light, lead him to the path of Light, o Creator, Creator of Light”.

Further reading

