And so NaNoWriMo 2016 draws to a close. Congratulations to everyone who have done their best to win this year (when this posts you will still have some 12 hours to finish)!

I am very thankful that I managed to finish – and to finish before a week of chronic illness flares that had me incapable of doing much writing at all. I’m still not finished with the first draft of the book, though, and will use December to work on that.

Creating Character Arcs: Another book I can highly recommend

About a week ago K.M. Weiland’s book Creating Character Arcs: The Masterful Austor’s Guide to Uniting Story Structure, Plot, and Character Development. I haven’t even finished it, but all I can say is wow. Even in the first few chapters I had to confront my characters and realise where they needed work (if you saw my Twitter feed – this is what I meant by ‘making notes’ the whole time).

It is quite an inexpensive book and definitely worth every cent even with our delightful Rand/Dollar exchange rate.

Trust me, go out and buy it right now – why not make it a Christmas gift to yourself?

tumblr_n2rfbgdesm1tqnoc1o1_400

