You may be asking yourself ‘what on earth’ right now. The truth is, I feel quite silly. No, actually I feel like a downright idiot. I’ve posted this map before:

Media24 Research advertising-20160622121831

It’s a straightforward map, but for a while, while figuring out some of the final trade routes (which does play a part in the story, it’s not worldbuilder’s disease) I seemed to have forgotten that the world is round.

The world of Airtha-Eyrassa is an earth-like planet, and so it stands to reason that you could sail around the whole thing. Only, I’d been treating it as if you couldn’t cross the one ocean. No, it’s not too big or anything, I just didn’t take it into the reckoning.

BUT. Yes, there is a big “but”.

My oversight made sure that I now have so much more story to tell.

So, what I actually want to say in this long-winded way, is – if you’re stuck in your story, go back and make sure you didn’t miss something completely obvious. Like the world being round…

792

