Since the previous writing update quite a lot of exciting things have been happening. Here’s a short update as to what I’ve been up to (and what I’m up to at the moment).

Flash Fiction Collection Dim Mirrors Published!

About a week ago I published Dim Mirrors on Noisetrade Books. The collection is made up of 39 flash fiction stories (stories shorter than 1 000 words). While they are mostly fantasy and speculative in nature, there are some non-genre stories as well.

You can either get a copy for free or you can leave a tip. (I know you need to give an address when you sign up with Noisetrade, but I’m not planning to do anything with the info they send me other than going ‘O, cool, I have readers in place X!’.)

Just a reminder that the (free) anthology Jozi Flash is also available! Download Jozi Flash by following this link. There you will also find out more about the contributing authors. (Hint: They’re all awesome.)

SASMARS – Or, me acting all academic

During the next two months I will be hard at work on the article I’m presenting at the SASMARS (Southern Africa Society for Medieval and Renaissance Studies) Conference in August. Plane tickets have been bought so there’s no turning back now! If you’re curious about the paper I’ll be presenting, follow this link. It’s not medieval Icelandic zombies this time (read the Eyrbyggja Saga!), but I still find my topic very interesting.

Patreon – Yes, you can become one of my patrons!

After quite a bit of thought, I decided to join Patreon. If you haven’t heard of Patreon yet, check this out.

Now you may ask yourself what you will be getting in return for becoming a patron – well, the short answer is that you will get to have a look behind the scenes (though not a video of me writing; that will just be boring). Here’s what I’ve decided on (pledges for a maximum of 2 fiction posts per month, Afrikaans fiction not included):

  • $1 Pledge: One Patreon-only flash fiction story per month.
  • $5 Pledge: One Patreon-only flash fiction story per month, vote on title/promt for monthly flash fiction story.
  • $10 Pledge: One Patreon-only flash fiction story per month, choice of prompt for the flash fiction story, see worldbuilding notes and stories of Airtha-Eyrassa – follow the story of the world as it unfolds.
  • $15 Pledge: One Patreon-only flash fiction story per month, choice of prompt for the flash fiction story, see worldbuilding notes and stories of Airtha-Eyrassa – follow the story of the world as it unfolds, see maps of Airtha-Eyrassa, see behind the scenes of any other WIP(s).
  • $20 Pledge: One Patreon-only flash fiction story per month, choice of prompt for the flash fiction story, see worldbuilding notes and stories of Airtha-Eyrassa – follow the story of the world as it unfolds, see maps of Airtha-Eyrassa, see behind the scenes of any other WIP(s), see early drafts of current WIP/character sketches – see how the project grows and develops.
  • More than $20 Pledge: One Patreon-only flash fiction story per month, choice of prompt for the flash fiction story, see worldbuilding notes and stories of Airtha-Eyrassa – follow the story of the world as it unfolds, see maps of Airtha-Eyrassa, see behind the scenes of any other WIP(s), see early drafts of current WIP/character sketches – see how the project grows and develops, become a character in the novel.

Interested? Head over to my Patreon page, have a read through, and make your pledge!

And, finally, to everyone reading the blog, commenting, and sharing my stuff, thank you, thank you, thank you! Without the support I’ve been getting online it would be a lot more difficult to follow my dream.

tumblr_nyfy0q2NCM1rkf90so1_400

