After returning from The Great Road Trip Weekend, things fell apart a bit. First I found that my bird, Pippin, which I’d had for fourteen years had died (of old age). Then, after burying him beneath a tree in the garden, I discovered that the bathroom and half the bedroom had been flooded thanks to the geyser’s overflow pipe. Yes, I did end up crying quite a bit.

Long story short, a cold snap and rain arrived which meant that getting onto the roof was extremely dangerous, so we had to wait until the rain stopped before anything could be fixed.

792

Luckily my notebooks and books are unscathed (I am certain they were saved from flooding by book angels – the water missed the notebooks by about an inch), though new carpeting is now needed. Or tiles. Some type of new flooring, in any case. I’ve been trying to get on with writing as normal, but have to admit that, no matter how much I wanted to, I could not. So I rearranged the room in order to be able to sit at a desk where the carpet is dry (seeing as how the Writing Closet is being used for storage at this moment) and sitting on the bed makes me want to watch DVDs… and I think I might even prefer it like this…

Unfortunately Sir Tristan the cat was in a state after Pippin died, so I ended up going to the pet shop and getting a pair of budgies. They are called Frodo and Sam, and Tristan is again happy and not so alone. I do miss Pippin a lot, but the sounds of the budgies are relaxing. I never realised how silent the flat is without a bird! Their energy is also something to behold.

I am thankful that it’s not worse, though. When I see on the news the devastating fires and wars and people being entirely displaced, I am just reminded how lucky and blessed I am to live in a proper house and have a job and education. Just to be able to have pets is a blessing in itself. It kind of puts things back into perspective when I want to start moaning and going ‘woe is me’. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not jumping from happiness and am very irritated with the wet carpets, etc., but I’m trying to focus on the bigger picture. I have been through worse, after all.

tumblr_m09w3bs39v1rn95k2o1_500

