“I told you he had a dungeon.”
“I know.”
“I told you we were going to be captured.”
“I know.”
Chains dragged over a stone floor.
“I’d do my ‘I told you so’ dance, but I’m a bit tied up.”
Chains jangled.
“It just always looks so simple. In the movies, I mean. You travel back in time, have an adventure, and go home.”
“You’re having an adventure right now. Are you happy?”
“I mean, even if you do get captured there is always a way out, right at the very end.” A pause. “I didn’t mean to kill the king’s cousin.”
“But you did.”
“I’ve never even hit a pigeon with my car. And now I killed a member of the royal family.”
“Unfortunately you killed one of the family favourites. If everyone hated him we would probably have been knighted and gone home showered in gold.”
“We have until tomorrow morning, at least.”
“Then you’d better hope that the time machine works as it should. We hardly have the prowess to fight our way out of here even if we do manage to get out of the shackles.”
“Any moment now the princess will come down those stairs and proclaim her love for one of us and then help us escape. Just you wait and see.”
A deep sigh. A scrape of chains.

“My lord!” It was a female voice, followed by melodramatic sobbing. “I love you and I have come to save you!”
“Now we simply-”
They heard the footsteps pass their cell and stop at another.
“My lady!” they heard from within that cell.
“That machine had better work or I’m strangling you with these chains.”
They waited for the sound of the machine coming take them back to their own time.

