In what seems like the blink of an eye the end of NaNoWriMo is here! This year has been so much more productive than I thought it would be. I ended up doing 101 192 words as of this morning (and I decided to take the evening off from writing as I wrote over 10 000 words at yesterday’s write-in). I was planning on only writing until I finished the first draft of the novel (working title The Charms of Life and Death), but when I reached the end of the novel there was still a bit of the month left so I ended up writing the beginning of the second book as well. There ended up being a specific part in the story where I felt I could split it and start book two, which I am really glad about.

So, in summary, in the past thirty days:
– I made some awesome new friends
– I finished the first draft of book 1
– I started on the first draft of book 2
– I realised how much writing I am able to do in a month if I structure my time better (this included taking part in Flash! Friday)

What NaNoWriMo and the month of November taught me this year

The last point is something that was also one of my goals with NaNoWriMo. It is so easy to skip writing on days when you feel tired or you think that you do not have any inspiration. Now I am not talking about days when you are ill or when your body is really telling you enough is enough (that is why I took the previous weekend off from write-ins). You can’t have some chronic stuff going on and expect to be well enough to work on extra stuff every day of every month. This month has just, thankfully, been a particularly good month. I am also very much aware that I have a lot more time to myself compared to many other writers because I do not have children. This also made it a lot easier to have big blocks of time during which to write.
I learnt that Blind Guardian and Linkin Park are the perfect music for word sprints. I shall remember this next year.

But I also learnt how to go with the flow more. I did not just write, I did go out to the movies and the theatre (an awesome production of Sweeney Todd), making it the busiest month I had had in a long time. Sometimes you need a reminder that you need to get out of your comfort zone at times.

So What Comes Next?

Editing. Lots and lots and lots and lots of editing and some rewriting. But I’ll keep to my plan of letting the book lie in the drawer for a bit while I work on some short stories. I’ll also look at new flash fiction challenges now that Flash! Friday is closing. *sobs*
I also have two short courses with the Shaw Academy planned for next year January and February, which promises to be entertaining.
But first it is time for the festive season… and I still have a lot of crochet to get done before Christmas!

