Today is already the third day of NaNoWriMo! I had decided to push for as many words as possible on Sunday so that it’s still okay if there are some days on which I don’t get the chance to write 1 700 words. My plan of action was to get up very early on Sunday and then join the local write-in at 7:30 and stay there as long as I could (because the place, like the people, are awesome). Because of that I took leave on Monday just to recharge my brain’s battery. And I am very glad that I thought of taking leave a few weeks ago as I really needed it.

I had thought that I would do 5 000 words at the most on Sunday, but it turned out that I was really on a roll so that I did about 5 500 words by lunchtime. I then took a break to rest my hands (no idea how the woman who had written 20 000 words by that time did it!) and started again at about 5pm. That went quite slow, but I wanted to push myself to do 10 000 words on that day. Because. 10 000 words. I ended up finishing half asleep at 11:30pm. At that time the Johannesburg writers had written over 300 000 words!

Because I have written so many words by now, I think I will be able to take part in Flash Friday every week this month, although I am not so sure about Cracked Flash Fiction and Warmup Wednesday. My main writing focus this month will be finishing draft 1 even if it takes more than 50 000 words. So far so good! I may also work on the short stories I am busy with and which some just need a final edit before I can send them off.

So where am I on day 3?

• I’ve written 12 753 words!
• I’m not stuck (which means that the outlining seems to be working)
• I haven’t succumbed to worldbuilder’s disease
• I’m closer to mapping out the end of book (one). I’m trying to make book one a self-contained story, which can then be built into a series. So far, however, I’m up to two books for part one of the story and then two books for part two of the story (there’s a gap of about 60 years between the two). I also don’t want to squash so much into the book that it turns out a busy mess. And as it’s epic fantasy I guess two to four books isn’t that bad.

So, all in all, NaNoWriMo is going well so far. And the coffee shop I always write at is open again after renovations just in time for NaNoWriMo – FTW!

Found on Pinterest.
Found on Pinterest.
