Read the first part of the writing music posts here – Epic and Amazing Writing Music (part 1)

A lot of writers (like me) use music to set the scene while writing and I’m always on the lookout for new music that will suit whatever I am writing. Mostly this means finding orchestral music that conjures thoughts of far-off lands and strange kingdoms. I hope you enjoy these musicians’ music as much as I do!

Shadowghost

Shadowghost is a South African writer and musician I met on the Afrikaans platform Woes. He has some wonderful music over on Soundcloud already and I think they’re perfect to listen to when writing some scifi or fantasy.
Find Shadowghost on Soundcloud (AllOfMind), visit his blog  or read his work on Woes.

Troffel

Troffel is another South African artist with music featured on Soundcloud. His music is orchestral and can definitely be described as “epic”. I especially love the tracks Song goes bra bra braw braw and This is not goodbye.

Artesia

Artesia is a neoclassical darkwave group founded in 2001. Their fourth album, Wanderings, was released in 2011. I love the ethereal quality of the work and this is perfect for writing to as well. Artesia can be found on last.fm or on Artesia’s Facebook page.

photo-1422034681339-7b5dbb46db18-Jenelle Ball-edited

