Read part one of NaNoWriMo Prep and Resources (Scrivener) here.

Read about my novel for NaNoWriMo 2015 over here.

I find that Pinterest is a very handy resource when I am looking for some writing inspiration or some photo references. Okay, and crochet patterns, but that’s best left for another post. If you have only heard of Pinterest, it may sound a bit silly and doesn’t sound like something writers can use. But there are actually quite a few writers who are using Pinterest to gather inspiration and show others the kind of world they are creating in their stories.

There are four main ways in which I use Pinterest for my writing:

Character Ideas

Sometimes you only have a vague idea of how a character looks, but then you see a photo and in an instant you know that that is what your character actually looks like. Not to mention all the faces and photos that can spark a story all of a sudden.

Research

You can link photos from just about any site onto Pinterest, so if there’s some research you want to keep or something you’re busy with at the moment that you need to refine, you can link all of these to your board and then just follow the link back to the website.

Videos

It is also possible to pin YouTube videos to Pinterest, which means that you can keep all those how-to videos you find on YouTube on your WIP board.

Inspiration and reference for clothes, places, and props

Depending on whom you follow, there are endless tutorials of how certain clothes are made and how clothes have changed through the ages. Not to mention all the magnificent cosplay!

Travel photos abound on Pinterest and can be great inspiration for settings for the story you’re busy with or even for a future story.

Looking for reference for the weapons your characters are using? Or perhaps you just need to fill in the blanks inside the household. The chances that you will find what you are looking for on Pinterest is quite high.

I find that there are some photos, videos, etc. which really is just extra and which I don’t feel is necessary to put into my Scrivener project. These I can all put in Pinterest and then just scroll through them when I get stuck or want to take a break from typing.

Here’s an example of part of my NaNoWriMo Pinterest board to give you an idea of the things I’m pinning:

Pinterest Screen Shot

