Of

Gunsteling musiek Donderdag – Toe vind ek jou

This week’s song is an Afrikaans one called “Toe vind ek jou” (Then I found you). The duet is by Francois van Coke and Karen Zoid and the song is absolutely beautiful.

*

Hierdie week se liedjie is “Toe vind ek jou“, ‘n pragtige duet deur Francois van Coke en Karen Zoid.

 

Koop die liedjie op iTunes/Buy the song on iTunes

Here’s the translated lyrics with the original Afrikaans below.

 

I lay down my weapons

Tonight, for the first time,

I see myself in your eyes

I’ve lost this war

I stare at the blood on my hands

I know I’ve changed

You think I’m just talking again

I love you

I swear

No pretence

No control

Outside voices are laughing loudly

Friends saying goodbye

See you later

Everyone finds their path

I know I must do the same, my treasure

Hey, my sweet,

Hey, my baby (English is used here)

You’re my refuge

I never want to make you cry

You’re my song

You’re my melody

We have a dog

We have a little house

I’ve given enough

I’ve shouted enough

I learned a long time ago

But still I tried

Flee like a traitor

From that which is holding me

There were monsters in the dark

Then I found you

I swear

No pretence

No control.

 

Ek lê my wapens neer
Vanaand vir die eerste keer
Sien ek myself in jou oë
Ek het hierdie oorlog verloor
Ek staar na die bloed op my hande
Ek weet ek het verander
Jy dink ek praat net weer
Ek het jou lief
Ek sweer

Geen pretensie
Geen beheer

Buite die stemme wat skater
Vriende wat groet
Sien jou later
Elkeen vind sy pad
Ek weet ek moet ook my skat

Hey, my sweet
Hey, my baby
Jy’s my toevlug
Wil jou nooit laat huil nie
Jy’s my lied
Jy’s my wysie
Ons het ’n hond
Ons het ’n huisie

Ek het genoeg gegee
Ek het genoeg geskree
Ek het lankal terug geleer
Maar nog steeds het ek probeer
Vlug soos ’n verraaier
Van dit wat my vashou
Daar was monsters in die donker
Toe vind ek jou
Ek sweer

Geen pretensie

Geen beheer

Lyrics: Karen Zoid & Francois van Coke
Music: Van Coke / Zoid / Kossew

Lyrics via www.francoisvancoke.co.za

(Translation by me)

 

