Welcome to the new home of my blog Hersenskim. The previous content (including flash fiction, reviews, and writing resources) can still be read over here at the old Hersenskim.

Now that I’ve found my blogging feet, I hope to bring you some interesting reads!

“Yellow Flowers” by Tom Eversley

But first…

What is a “hersenskim”?

The word hersenskim Afrikaans, from the Dutch hersenschim and literally refers to a ‘phantom of the mind’. I not only chose the word because I love the way it sounds, but its manyfold meanings. The WAT defines it as “Something that only exists in the imagination or something that is impossible”. The Pharos online bilingual dictionary gives the following translations for hersenskim: phantasm, chimera, dream, illusion, phantom, fantasy, hallucination.

I think this word sums up the speculative fiction, mythology, and folklore which you’ll be able to find on the blog very well!

Sources:

WAT

Woorden Nederlandse Taal

Pharos Dictionaries Online

