Blind Guardian is a power metal band from Germany. The first of their music which I heard was the album Nightfall in Middle-Earth (songs based on JRR Tolkien’s The Silmarillion and, yes, it’s as awesome as it sounds). Their lyrics are almost all rich in mythology, folklore, and fantasy.

Now I won’t act like I listen to a lot of metal – this is basically it – so I won’t go into a deep discussion. About their musical style Wikipedia has to say:

“Blind Guardian’s first two albums, Battalions of Fear and Follow the Blind, were more in the style of speed metal than their following works. Beginning with their third albumTales from the Twilight World, Blind Guardian gradually began to write more complicated compositions focusing less on speed. As of their sixth album, Nightfall in Middle Earth, Hansi stopped playing bass to focus on singing. At this point the band began to incorporate large amounts of orchestral arrangements, and utilized the technique of overdubbing, heavily influenced by the English rock band Queen.”

“Skalds and Shadows” has been in my head this whole week, so I thought it would be a good choice for this week’s Favourite Music Thursday. Trust me, you want to hear their music. And then go and listen to their other songs…

